Today’s Workout: Pilates

On a day like today, a reliable indoor workout is a plus.

WI

 

I’m a huge fan of Pilates and try to do it 1-2 times a week.  Pilates was one of the first fitness classes I really got into post-college.  I took a class at the local Y back in Chicago – the same instructor for about 2 years, the same group of people in the class.  We had the loud breather, the runner (guy) who wore short running shorts, etc.   And it’s when I first started to notice that yes, indeed, I do have a waist.  I always feel a little longer and leaner after a good Pilates mat class/workout.

A great at-home Pilates workout to check out is Mari Winsor: Pilates.   I used the DVD via Netflix.

There’s an express, 20 minute option and a full, 50 minute floor workout.  I use the 50 minute workout which takes me through plenty of abs, lower body toning moves, and core “scooping”.

pilates

The workout provides variations for beginners and more advanced practitioners.  It’s a great DVD if you’re new to Pilates.  I will say that it moves a bit slow if you’re more advanced.

The only equipment needed is a yoga or exercise mat.  Be sure to wear comfy clothes.

Do you have a good at-home Pilates workout to recommend?  Do you do Pilates? What’s today’s workout?

20 responses

  1. I’d love to try other Pilates workouts. I’ve heard about the Mari Winsor series, but haven’t tried it, yet. The DVDs I enjoy are Denise Austin’s ‘Mat workout based on the work of JH Pilates’ (Not all that intense, but still when I do one of the two routines after not having done them in a few days, I feel it! The DVD also has a bonus lower body workout) and David Snively’s ‘Custom Fit’. Indoor workouts sure do help to beat the gloom 😉

  2. My goodness, it’s snowy where you are! If you were to look out my cube window right now, you’d think it was summer in Houston. I’m in awe of you for getting a workout in. When it’s cold outside, the workout diva in me just wants to stay in bed and wear fuzzy slippers. I guess I could technically do Pilates in bed though, wearing fuzzy slippers. 😛

  3. Wow- That’s great to know . Did n’t even know that there were pilates dvd’s that were good. I like to workout in my basement when everyone sleeps b/c it’s easy! Thanks for the tip. I went to a pilates studio for a while & loved it; but, now it’s just easier to go to my basement early in the a.m.

What's on your mind?

