Salsa Chicken

I have another recipe to share today – nothing too fancy.  That’s my style in the kitchen.  Simple, healthy, short ingredient list.

I’ve seen this dish on a lot of blogs but it comes via a slow cooker.  I’ve cooked this long without one but still do want to give it a try.  My mom offered I can test-drive her slow cooker!

In the spirit of the Eat in Month Challenge, this salsa chicken was my go-to lunch last week.  This is very versatile and could be used for tacos, burriots, enchiladas, taco salads, etc.  I’ve been enjoying it on a bed of sautéed kale.  I finally bought a bag of baby kale at Costco – it’s very bitter but cooked down it’s a nice addition to a warm dish.

Salsa Chicken

Ingredients
3-4 chicken breasts
1, 16 oz jar salsa 

Cumin 

Process
1.  Boil the chicken, let it cool, shred.
2.  Place the chicken in a pan on the stove and heat until warm.  Sprinkle with cumin until chicken is coated.
3.  Add salsa and mix until chicken is coated.
4.  Heat through.
5.  Enjoy!  Store in an air-tight container.  

I used Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa for this – it’s a bit sweet but adds unique flavor.  It’s low in sodium but does have added sugar – bummer.  Next time I’ll try this with green salsa.  If you’ve never boiled/poached chicken, here are tips.

Any new or go-to chicken recipes to share?  Are you participating in the Eat in Month challenge?  Did you pack your lunch today?  What’s for lunch?

I forgot to take a picture of the dish – by the time I remembered, I’d finished all of the chicken.  So instead of a chicken picture, here’s a puppy picture!

IMG_2093

10 responses

What's on your mind?

